The Problem With Having Skills

THE THING IS, we all have the ability to be superheroes. It’s just that some of us are more in tune with our powers than others.

And if you’re still searching for your inner superpowers, start with socks. Superman socks.

 

 

My cloak of invisibility
Became a disability
When the boss no longer saw me at my desk.

He said ‘You cannot use your power,
To skip work for hour on hour’
It really was quite Kafkaesque

The truth was simply this
And it’s easy to dismiss
But I was avoiding a collection on my section

I didn’t want to donate pounds
As heartless as it sounds
For a kitten with a horrible infection

I said ‘I’ve done no wrong,
It’s not easy to be strong
In the face of your hostility’

‘I don’t use my Jedi mind-tricks
Or X-Ray vision, just for kicks –
With great power comes responsibility’

But I no longer use my talents
In the workplace, so for balance
I continue to hone my skills alone

Shapeshifting on the couch
Isn’t easy I can vouch
But at least now I can practice it at home


Leave a comment